University of Louisville Advanced Standing for Internationally Trained Dentists: Seats, Requirements and Cost

University of Louisville School of Dentistry · Program guide · Updated October 2026

University of Louisville Advanced Standing for Internationally Trained Dentists: Seats, Requirements and Cost

The University of Louisville School of Dentistry (ULSD) offers Advanced Standing into its DMD program for dentists who graduated outside the US or Canada. It takes a minimum of 28 months, ends with a DMD degree, and you apply only through ADEA CAAPID with a passed INBDE.1

Be clear about one thing first: this is a space-available program. Louisville admits Advanced Standing students only when a seat opens in its second-year class, it does not admit them every year, and it expects about 1 seat for January 2027.12

About 1seat expected for January 2027
0 to 3admitted in a typical year
28 monthsminimum, ends in a DMD
Yesin-person bench test

Who this guide is for: Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi and Nepali dentists (BDS), and other internationally trained dentists, who want a US DDS or DMD and are deciding whether Louisville belongs on their CAAPID list.

The Study Boards

How The Study Boards helps you get into Louisville Advanced Standing

  • INBDE first: Louisville will not consider you without a pass on file. Our INBDE course gives you 35,000+ questions, faculty-made Modules and Master Files, the test series and nightly live tests at 9 PM New York time. 99% of students who complete the course pass on their first attempt.
  • Built around you: the courses are extremely personalised. Red lines and assignments are given on the go, the course learns from the way you study, and faculty assist you.
  • TOEFL: Louisville prefers 100 overall with 26 in speaking and listening. Our TOEFL course for dentists aims at those section scores.
  • Application, hands and interview: the CAAPID application program builds your essays and a realistic school list, bench test prep with Dr. Kaur readies you for the in-person bench test, and interview prep with Dr. T readies you for the virtual interview.

Questions are answered by US-licensed dentists, not AI.

The facts in one place

Louisville Advanced Standing at a glance

From ULSD’s own pages and its ADEA CAAPID listing, checked 15 October 2026.

ProgramAdvanced Standing for Internationally Trained DentistsEntry into the D2 (second-year) DMD class
Degree and lengthDMD, minimum 28 monthsMay be customised for each student
SeatsAbout 1 for January 2027Typically 0 to 3; not offered every year
Next class startsJanuary 2027ADEA lists 4 January 2027
How to applyADEA CAAPID onlyPlus a $65 ULSD fee, paid only when asked
2026 cycle5 March to 15 May 2026This deadline has passed
Board examINBDE passOr NBDE Parts I and II
EnglishTOEFL iBT or IELTSPreferred: 100 (26 speaking and listening) or IELTS 7.5
Credential reportECEADEA’s listing also names WES
Bench testYes, in personAfter a virtual orientation
InterviewVirtualHeld only if a seat is predicted
Green card needed?NoADEA listing answers “No”
Tuition, 2026-27$86,938 a yearNon-resident; same as traditional DMD
Direct cost, 2026-27$98,705 a yearNon-resident tuition, fees, instruments, insurance
Loans if internationalNot stated by ULSDAsk the financial aid office

Sources: ULSD program page, ADEA CAAPID listing and ULSD Cost and Aid page.123 ADEA’s listing says the number admitted “has ranged from 0 to 8 spots” over the years; ULSD’s own FAQ says it is typically 0 to 3.12

Read this before you apply

What Louisville focuses on

Louisville publishes less about its selection than most schools. Here is what its own pages do say, and what that means for you.

1

A seat in D2 decides everythingULSD says it does not reserve places for internationally trained dentists. You fill a gap in the existing second-year class, and if no gap opens, nobody is admitted that year.1

2

Clinical volume and community careThe school describes “community-focused experiences”, over 50,000 patient visits a year and clinical sites across Kentucky, many serving high-need patients.4

3

Digital dentistry and researchULSD wants to lead in training on intraoral scanning, CBCT, 3D printing and digital implant planning, and names research strengths in maxillofacial radiology, dental materials and oral microbiology.4

4

Everything since graduationADEA’s listing asks for a resume of all experiences, dental and non-dental, since you graduated. Gaps are visible, so explain them.2

5

Strong EnglishThe preferred TOEFL is 100 with 26 in speaking and listening, higher than many programs. ULSD can ask any candidate for a TOEFL.1

6

Hand skills, tested in personShortlisted applicants attend a virtual bench test orientation, then an in-person bench test. ULSD does not publish what is tested.1

Our advice: how to use this in your essays and interviewIn your CAAPID personal statement, show why you want Louisville in particular: experience treating high-need or rural patients, and any digital work such as intraoral scanning or guided implants. Make your resume complete from graduation to today, including non-dental work. In the virtual interview, be ready to explain how you would join a class that is already one year in. ULSD does not state what kind of applicant has done well, so these are our suggestions, not the school’s criteria.

What Louisville asks for

Requirements in detail

Everything goes through ADEA CAAPID. ULSD does not accept documents sent to it directly.1

INBDE

Pass the INBDEA pass on the INBDE, or NBDE Parts I and II, sent to CAAPID. Where a number is issued, ULSD needs 75 or higher. For international candidates the INBDE costs $890 plus a $435 processing fee, $1,325 in total.127

TOEFL

TOEFL iBT preferred, IELTS acceptedULSD’s FAQ prefers 100 overall with 26 in speaking and listening, or IELTS 7.5. Its requirements list prefers 100 or 4.5 on the new scale. The Home Edition is accepted. A waiver is possible with 90 US college credit hours or a US master’s degree. TOEFL code: 5933.12

ECE

Credential evaluationULSD’s page asks for a detailed ECE evaluation. ADEA’s listing accepts ECE or WES. ECE satisfies both, so order ECE. The course-by-course report costs $199.126

2 LORs

Two letters of evaluationOne professional letter and one from the dean or a senior administrator of your dental school, written within one year of applying.1

Essay

Personal statement and resumeA short essay on why you want to enter ULSD’s DMD program, plus a resume of everything since dental school.12

$65

ULSD application feePaid online only when the program asks for it, on top of CAAPID’s $264 for the first program and $115 for each extra one.15

No DAT, no US science prerequisitesThose belong to ULSD’s four-year DMD route. For Advanced Standing your foreign dental degree, the INBDE, English scores and the evaluation take their place.1 Visa questions go to the university’s International Student and Scholar Services office, which ADEA’s listing names.2

Tick as you go

Am I ready to apply to Louisville?

Tick what you have done. Whatever is left is your list before CAAPID opens again.

Need help with the CAAPID screens? See our CAAPID application walkthrough and WES or ECE.

From application to first day

How Louisville selects Advanced Standing students

ULSD lists these steps as mandatory. Interviews and the bench test happen only in years when a seat is expected.1

CAAPID application by 15 MayApplication and all materials received through CAAPID. Review usually runs April to July.
Virtual interviewULSD’s timeline says June to August, its FAQ says August to November, and it can run as late as December.
Virtual bench test orientationUsually August or September.
In-person bench testDate set by ULSD. Content is not published.
Start in JanuaryYou join the D2 class in January of the year after you applied.

The application cycle on a timeline

5 March 2026CAAPID opensFor January 2027 entry.
15 May 2026ULSD deadlineEverything must be in CAAPID.
June to December 2026Virtual interview, then bench testOnly if a seat is predicted.
4 January 2027Program startsAbout 1 seat expected.
Today: October 2026Prepare for the next cycleThe 2026 window has closed. If ULSD follows the same pattern, CAAPID opens again in March 2027 with a May deadline. ULSD has not yet said whether it will take anyone for January 2028.

For a month-by-month plan, read our INBDE and CAAPID timeline.

2026-27 figures from ULSD

What Louisville Advanced Standing costs

ULSD charges Advanced Standing students the same tuition as its traditional DMD students. It publishes yearly figures only.13

2026-27, per year Kentucky resident Non-resident
Tuition $41,760 $86,938
Instruments and supplies $7,500 $7,500
Health profession, rec and athletic fees $701 $701
Major medical insurance (can be waived) $3,566 $3,566
Total per year $53,527 $98,705

A rough total for 28 months

You join in January, partway through the D2 year, then complete D3 and D4. At non-resident rates that is roughly two and a half years of direct costs. ULSD does not publish a living-cost figure.

Direct costs, about 2.5 yearsOur estimate from ULSD’s 2026-27 non-resident rateabout $247,000
ApplyingCAAPID $264, ULSD $65, ECE $199, INBDE $1,325$1,853
Before rent, food and travelabout $249,000

How people actually pay: loansBecoming a US dentist through Advanced Standing usually costs somewhere between $250,000 and $450,000 all-in. Almost nobody pays it in cash; most students finance it with loans and repay them from a US dentist’s income. Options include private loans, co-signer loans with a US citizen or green-card holder, and a few international lenders that need no co-signer. ULSD’s cost page does not describe aid for international students, so ask its financial aid office which loans it will certify before you count on one.3

To weigh cost against income, read is becoming a US dentist worth it?

We help with every stage

How to prepare: our full plan for Louisville

With one seat at stake, every part of the file has to be strong. Here is how The Study Boards prepares you.

INBDE

Pass the INBDE first timeOur INBDE Premium Boards course: 35,000+ questions, Modules and Master Files, the test series and nightly live tests at 9 PM New York time. Plans are $299 for 3 months, $499 for 6 months, $899 for 12 months, or $39 a month.

  • Pass Guarantee: finish on time with no overdue days, score 60%+ on every test, and if you still do not pass, we refund the course fee and the exam registration fee.

See the INBDE Blueprint

CAAPID

Essays, letters and a school listMaster the CAAPID Application covers your personal statement, letters, CV and a strategy session with Dr. T. With Louisville admitting 0 to 3 a year, your list needs other schools too.

See the CAAPID Program

Bench

Bench test prep with Dr. KaurULSD does not publish its bench test content, so train the core preparations most schools test. Start with what the bench test is and how it is evaluated.

See Bench Test Prep

Interview

Interview prep with Dr. TThe 3-session program with Dr. Slesnick and Dr. T trains you for virtual interviews. Warm up with these five tough questions.

See Interview Prep

TOEFL

Reach 100 with strong speakingOur TOEFL iBT course for dentists is a 45-day, mentor-reviewed program for the January 2026 format.

See the TOEFL Course

Keep your options open

Other routes if Louisville is not the right fit

One seat, maybe. Passing the INBDE opens four routes, and most dentists apply to several at once.

1

Advanced Standing at another schoolTwo to three years to a DDS or DMD through ADEA CAAPID. Compare programs in our Advanced Standing programs guide and full list of US dental schools, then shortlist with the CAAPID directory method.

2

AEGD through ADEA PASSSome states give a limited licence after an AEGD; rules vary by state. See AEGD programs for international dentists.

3

A residency through PASSApplying straight to a residency is more competitive for international applicants. Read CAAPID or PASS: how to pick.

4

TeachingSome international dentists join a US dental school in a faculty or academic role. Each school and state sets its own rules.

If you are also weighing Canada, the AFK route through the NDEB is the first step there.

Quick answers

Frequently asked questions

How many international dentists does Louisville accept?
It depends on open D2 seats. ULSD says it typically admits 0 to 3, does not admit Advanced Standing students every year, and expects at least 1 seat for January 2027.1
Can an Indian BDS graduate apply to Louisville’s Advanced Standing program?
Yes. ULSD accepts dentists with a degree from outside the US or Canada who have passed the INBDE or NBDE Parts I and II. ADEA’s listing says you do not need US citizenship or a green card. You still need the English scores, an ECE report and two letters, and visa questions go to the university’s international office.12
Do Pakistani dentists need the INBDE for Louisville?
Yes. Every applicant needs a pass on the INBDE, or on NBDE Parts I and II, reported to ADEA CAAPID before review.1
Does Louisville have a bench test?
Yes. Shortlisted applicants attend a virtual orientation, usually in August or September, then an in-person bench test. ULSD does not publish what procedures are tested.1
What TOEFL score does Louisville need?
ULSD states preferred scores, not a hard cut-off: 100 overall with 26 in speaking and listening, or IELTS 7.5. A waiver is possible with 90 US college credit hours or a US master’s degree.1
How does The Study Boards help with a Louisville application?
The Study Boards prepares you for the INBDE, TOEFL, the CAAPID essays and school list, the bench test with Dr. Kaur and the interview with Dr. T, so your file is ready whether or not Louisville opens a seat that year.

Thinking about Louisville?

Our Admin Team with Dr. T and Dr. Kaur will contact you over WhatsApp. We will help you build a school list that does not depend on one seat.

Message the Admin Team on WhatsApp

References

  1. University of Louisville School of Dentistry. Advanced Standing (DMD) for Internationally Trained Dentists: requirements, timeline, FAQ. dentistry.louisville.edu (checked 15 October 2026)
  2. ADEA CAAPID. University of Louisville School of Dentistry program listing (updated 25 February 2026). programs.adea.org (checked 15 October 2026)
  3. University of Louisville School of Dentistry. Cost and Aid (DMD), 2026-2027. dentistry.louisville.edu (checked 15 October 2026)
  4. University of Louisville School of Dentistry. About Us. dentistry.louisville.edu (checked 15 October 2026)
  5. ADEA. ADEA CAAPID applicants: 2026-27 fees. adea.org (checked 15 October 2026)
  6. Educational Credential Evaluators. Services and Fees. ece.org (checked 15 October 2026)
  7. JCNDE. INBDE Candidate Guide: $890 fee plus $435 non-CODA processing fee. jcnde.ada.org

Current as of 15 October 2026. Program details and costs come from the University of Louisville School of Dentistry and ADEA CAAPID. The 28-month total is our estimate from ULSD’s yearly rate. Confirm everything with ULSD before you apply. This guide is independent and is not endorsed by the University of Louisville.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *